Baby Skin

Have you ever touched

A moth’s wing, Baby?

I once saw a witch weaving

Pairs, when I was trapping conies

On the heath. I seized

Her moon hair, Baby, and I

Made her show me the weft

Of feathers and silk

Shimmering on her loom.

 

Overcome,

I laid my head on the wing,

Like you ache on your mother’s

Breast, and I pulled the loom

Apart with sobbing.

 

When I left, the witch set

Alight the loom and her

Hair, and the goose-ash

Lay as light snow on the heath.

Baby, never touch

A moth’s wing.

There are some works

Too soft for Man’s hand.

Leave a Reply

