Sometimes

Sometimes

I look at you

For too long

So I will get caught staring.

 

Sometimes

I will project jokes

To hear you laugh

From the other side of the room,

And peer through chins and shoulders

To make sure you are amused.

 

If I see your feet

Pass over roots breaching

Like whale’s backs, through paving slabs,

I will follow, grab your arm,

And try not to smile.

 

Often,

I shake you out of my thoughts

As stolen jewels are shaken from bedsheets,

Leaving you to be loved elsewhere.

 

You are not for me to hoard.

Leave a Reply

